Ensemble - History

History of choeur Anima Musica

Anima Musica has been contributing to Montreal's musical life since it was founded in 1973 as the Donovan Chorale, by John and Bernadette Donovan. The latter served as artistic director from the choir's inception to the 1985-86 season. The Choir was renamed Anima Musica and subsequent conductors included Fred Stolzfus, Constantina Tsolainou, Winston Purdy, Andrée Dagenais and Geneviève Boulanger. Francis Guérard has been Anima Musica's musical director since June 2016. In June 2013, the choir celebrated its 40th anniversary with a concert featuring the most beautiful pieces from its past repertoire. This special anniversary concert was conducted by Geneviève Boulanger along with three of the choir's former musical directors.

The choir is always interested in sharing new musical experiences with its audience and frequently presents concerts with specific themes. Aurora Borealis explored the repertoire of Nordic music, Gaudete featured music of medieval inspiration, Navidad en España transported the audience with Mediterranean warmth, and Musical Mosaic took a turn into World Music.

Anima Musica also performs larger choral works such as Mozart's Regina Coeli, Bach's cantata Aus der Tiefe rufe ich and Fauré's Requiem. More recently the choir performed Lauda per la Natività del Signore by Respighi together with the Choeur du Plateau, Duruflé's Requiem and Misa por la Justicia y la Paz by Ariel Ramirez. Anima Musica also enjoys exploring contemporary repertoire as well as music by Canadian composers such as Willan, Watson, Daley and Sirett.

In April 2009, the choir joined a group of 1500 choristers to sing the Ode to Joy from Beethoven's Ninth under the direction of Kent Nagano. Anima Musica has participated several times in the Religious Choral Music Festival of the Alliance des chorales du Québec and in 2010 the choir sang at the Mondial Choral de Laval. In the spring of 2010 the choir participated in the National Amateur Choir Competition organized by the Association of Canadian Community choirs, the CBC and the Canada Council for the Arts. Anima Musica was awarded 2nd place in the mixed voice community adult choir category.

At the invitation of the Montreal Choral Institute, Anima Musica sang under the direction of Jon Washburn, Erik Westberg, Maria Guinand,and Julia Davids. In 2014, Anima Musica joined other choirs with the MSO for a wonderful performance of Carmina Burana on the Esplanade of the Olympic Stadium. In November 2014, the choir participated in the Night of the Choirs as a prelude to the Bach Festival 2014.

Ensemble - Rehearsals

General Rehearsals

Anima Musica presents two major concerts each year. Rehearsals take place on Tuesdays from 7:30-10:00 pm., from September to June.

Special Rehearsals

All-day intensive rehearsals are held on two separate days in the fall and again during the winter.

Fees

Fees are $160 per session (Fall and Winter). This includes membership, costs for intensive rehearsals and purchase of the music scores, which become the property of each choir member.

Session 1 : September - December 2016:

Session 2 : January - June 2017:



Rehearsal Location

Rehearsals are held at Kensington Presbyterian Church, 6225, avenue De Godfrey, Montréal, QC H4B 1K3 (between Grand Boulevard and Kensington in NDG). The church is easily accessible by the Villa-Maria Metro bus and the 162 westbound, or by car.

Ensemble - Auditions

Join Anima Musica - Auditions General Information

Anima Musica choir, under the direction of Francis Guérard is seeking enthusiastic choristers for soprano, tenor and bass parts. Come join our ensemble to discover a classical repertoire in the company of a lively group of vocalists.

Rehearsals take place in NDG on Tuesday evenings in both French and English.

Some experience in choral singing and reading music required.

For more information or to audition, call (438) 384-9217.


How to prepare for an audition

The audition is intended to ensure that this choir is the right match for the candidate and to help place him or her within the appropriate section.

After a mutual exchange about expectations, an appointment will be booked for an audition so that the choir Director can hear the candidate's vocal timbre and pitch, as well as evaluate sight-reading abilities. Candidates are encouraged to prepare a short a cappella piece.



For more information, please call (438) 384-9217.

Support Anima Musica - We Need You

If music be the food of love, play on! !

Would you like to support Anima Musica? It is now possible to make online donations via our secure page at CanadaHelps.org. Traditional donations are both welcome and greatly appreciated!
Faire un don maintenant par CanadaHelps.org

Ensemble - Historique

Historique du choeur Anima Musica

Le choeur Anima Musica contribue à la vie musicale montréalaise depuis sa fondation, en 1973, sous le nom de Donovan Chorale, par John et Bernadette Donovan. Bernadette Donovan en fut la directrice artistique depuis sa création jusqu'à la saison 1985-86, puis le chœur a été renommé Chœur Anima Musica et dirigé successivement par Fred Stolzfus, Constantina Tsolainou, Winston Purdy, Andrée Dagenais et Geneviève Boulanger. Francis Guérard en assure la direction musicale depuis juin 2016. Le Chœur a célébré ses quarante ans d'existence en juin 2013 par un concert réunissant les plus belles pièces de son répertoire, sous la baguette de Geneviève Boulanger et de trois de ses anciens directeurs.

Toujours intéressé à découvrir et partager de nouvelles expériences musicales, le chœur offre régulièrement des concerts thématiques. Aurora Borealis a exploré un répertoire de musique scandinave, Gaudete la musique d'inspiration médiévale, Navidad en América Latina a transporté son public sous le soleil, et Mosaïque Musicale se tourne vers la musique du monde.

Les grandes œuvres occupent également une place importante dans le répertoire du chœur. Parmi ses récentes productions, soulignons Lauda per la Natività del Signore de Respighi en collaboration avec le chœur du Plateau, le Requiem de Duruflé et la Misa por la Paz y la Justicia de Ariel Ramirez. Anima Musica aime aussi faire une place à des œuvres récentes et à des compositeurs canadiens comme Willan, Watson, Daley ou Sirett.

En avril 2009 Anima Musica s'est joint au grand Chœur de l'OSM pour chanter l'Ode à la joie de Beethoven sous la direction de Kent Nagano. Anima Musica a aussi participé à plusieurs reprises au Festival choral de musique religieuse sous l'égide de l'ACQ et a chanté en 2010 et 2012 au Mondial Choral de Laval. Le chœur a participé au printemps 2010 au Concours national pour chœurs amateurs canadiens, organisé par l'Association des communautés chorales canadiennes, Radio-Canada et le Conseil des Arts du Canada et il a remporté la deuxième place dans la catégorie des chœurs communautaires adultes à voix mixtes.

À l'invitation de l'Institut choral de Montréal, Anima Musica a chanté sous la direction de Jon Washburn, Erik Westberg, Maria Guinand et Julia Davids. En 2014, Anima Musica s'est joint, avec d'autres chœurs, à l'OSM lors de la grandiose présentation de Carmina Burana sur l'Esplanade du Stade Olympique, et le chœur a chanté à la Nuit des chœurs en prélude au Festival Bach 2014.

Ensemble - Répétitions

Répétitions générales

Anima Musica présente deux grands concerts par année. Les répétitions ont lieu les mardis, de 19 h 30 à 22 h 00, de septembre à juin.

Répétitions spéciales

Il y a aussi deux journées intensives à l'automne et deux pendant l'hiver.

Les frais

Les frais sont de 160$ par session (automne et hiver) et couvrent la cotisation, les journées intensives et les partitions qui appartiennent aux choristes.

Session 1 : Septembre à Decembre 2016:

Session 2 : Janvier à Juin 2017:



Le lieu des répétitions

Les répétitions ont lieu à l'église Kensington Presbyterian, 6225, avenue De Godfrey, Montréal, QC H4B 1K3 (entre le boulevard Grand et l'avenue Kensington à Notre-Dame-de-Grâce.) Accès par autobus Métro Villa-Maria et autobus 162 en direction ouest ou en voiture.

Ensemble - Auditions

Recrutement - information générale

Le choeur Anima Musica, sous la direction de Francis Guérard, est à la recherche de choristes enthousiastes dans les pupitres de soprano, ténor et basse. Vous pouvez vous joindre à notre ensemble vocal et découvrir un répertoire classique recherché en compagnie de choristes passionnés!

Les répétitions ont lieu à NDG tous les mardis en soirée et se déroulent en français et en anglais.

Lecture musicale et expérience chorale demandées.

Pour plus d'informations ou pour une audition, veuillez téléphoner à (438) 384-9217.


Les auditions - comment se préparer

L'audition permet d'assurer que le choeur convient bien au candidat et d'aider celui-ci à trouver la meilleure place dans le groupe. Après avoir échangé sur les attentes réciproques, une audition sera fixée pour permettre au chef de choeur d'entendre le timbre de la voix, sa justesse et aussi d'évaluer la lecture à vue.

Les candidats sont encouragés à préparer une courte pièce a cappella.



Pour plus d'informations ou pour une audition, veuillez téléphoner au (438) 384-9217.

Devenez un donateur

Si la musique est la nourriture de l'amour, alors joue encore !

Vous aimeriez appuyer Anima Musica? Il est maintenant possible de faire un don par internet via CanadaHelps.org. Des dons par d’autres moyens sont également très appréciés!
Faire un don maintenant par CanadaHelps.org